TOPIC: Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Opinions differ when it comes to organizing a worldwide competition for athletics. While it is true that this action brings some detrimental effects to the host nations to some extent, I believe that it is more important in terms of the country's renown.

Opposers of a country hosting an international sport event can point out that too much value is placed on sports. Host nations have to spend a significant amount of their budget to invest in the facilities. Human resources are put to work under great pressure for the event preparation process as well. Take the preparation of Qatar for the World Cup 2022 as an example. They spent an inordinate amount of money to hold this event. According to New Magazines, the cost for the stadium construction and renovation is up to 115 billion dollars. In addition, nearly 5000 workers were thoroughly exhausted due to overwork for a long time. Many well-known football players supposed that the action of Qatar government diminished the value of sport and then they spurned to join the WC 2022.

Despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I believe that the universal sport contest brings greater benefits to the host countries because it helps to gain their reputation. It is true that the sport event draws enormous crowds worldwide. The locations of the sport competition become the topic of global discussion as well as the headlines of the newspapers. During the event, their images and culture are broadcast over the mass media of other countries. People from all over the world come to the host nations to support their national teams which makes a valuable contribution to the growth of tourism. Therefore, they stand a great chance of introducing their country to entire globe.

In conclusion, host nations can notably benefit from their sport event organization. However, the authorities should take pecuniary issues into consideration to achieve best outcomes.