Tourism is causing environmental problems all around the world.

What are the main causes of this? What are some solutions?

Environmental pollution is arguably the most discussed topic in the world today. There are many reasons which might be harmful to the environment these days. One of the most serious reasons that people have been blaming is tourism. This essay will discuss some of the main negative impacts that tourism has on the environment and suggest a couple of solutions.

Firstly, tourism development can have a big effect on the local natural resources. Tourism is the industry that usually tends to overuse water, mainly for the hotels, swimming pools, or for the personal use of tourists. This can result in the shortage of fresh water by the excessive use of the industry and might produce a greater volume of waste water. Furthermore, the exploitation of land for tourism purposes has led to land degradation and more seriously, caused some natural disasters such as erosion, flooding, etc. In addition, the loss of biodiversity can be another effect of land comsumption. The consequences of these problems has threatened thousands of species and put them on the IUCN Red List.

Raising environmental awareness can be one of the perfect solutions to reduce harm to the natural world. Tourism has the potential to enhance public appreciation and spread the awareness of environmental problems. People can have a chance to be in the nature on their tours, thus they might change their attitudes towards the negative things that they have been doing to the natural world around them. When there is awareness, protection and preservation can happen to nature and biological diversity. The government themselves can help in protecting the environment, by teaching the students at schools or by educating their citizens through the help of the media.

In conclusion, the development of tourism has caused a lot of negative impacts on the natural world, which might include water pollution, water shortage and other natural disasters. There might be some measures that we as individuals and our governments can take in order to solve these problems, which are improving self-awareness and having the protection and preservation of the nature.