In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

With the advance of technology, people and companies now have more options on where they could work, such as in the comfort of their own home which they did not have before, or the traditional way. Working from home has become one of the most popular trends nowadays. Even though this trend has brought a lot of benefits to the employers and their employees, the number of problems it has created is as many.

The first advantage of working from home is that people can have now more opportunities to work globally.They can have a chance to cooperate with people in other countries via their smart devices and the Internet. Hence, they can apply for jobs globally as well as locally. Another benefit of working remotely is less time-consuming. In the past, without the help of smart devices, working from home was not a choice. Moreover, people would usually need to travel to their workplace, or even worse, they might have to fly to another country for work. This made people squander their time on traveling. To illustrate, it would often take at least an hour to get to the workplace, while that amount of time could instead be spent on hanging out with their family.

Beside the conveniences of working from home, it also has some drawbacks. Firstly, people might have less physical and social activities if they don’t have to get out of the house for work. For example, workers might not have physical interactions with their colleagues when they work in the same place, they can only communicate with each other via phones or the Internet. In addition, not just their co-workers, they might have less social face-to face interaction with other people as well, which can cause loneliness and loss of motivation in work. Secondly, reduction in productivity can be another disadvantage of this trend, which can be caused by several distractions from their childrens or delivery services during their working time at home.

In conclusion, working from home clearly has as many advantages as disadvantages. Perhaps, companies and employees should discuss the conditions of their working location first before reaching an agreement on this matter.