The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In the last ten years, the record number of overweight children has increased nearly 20%. This essay will examine the causes and the consequences as well as how to solve it.

One of the reasons that has been making young people obese is diet. It is easy to see the fast-food industry is getting more and more popular these days. For instance, fast-food restaurants have now started to widen/expand their market not only in western countries but also in south-east Asian countries. Additionally, the main targets of the fast food advertisement are usually children. Hence, it has become one of the foods that children crave for. Other than that, convenience food can easily make people overweight because it contains several unhealthy ingredients such as salt and fat. Secondly, the phenomenon of overweight in children is also a result of lacking physical activity in their daily life. Nowadays, children do not spend enough time on exercising, instead, they choose to hang around with their friends at some fast-food restaurant or spend time using technology/ their smart devices.

There are many problems that may happen to overweight children.Firstly, they can easily suffer from chronic diseases like high blood pressure or diabetes in their later life. These consequences will threaten young people in many ways. In some cases, they can even get mental health problems like stress, anxiety or insomnia from bullying at school or even at home for being overweight. These consequences can be followed by other consequences, as a result of mental health problems these children tend to have less productivity, and thus, low quality of life.

In conclusion, because of the advance of technology and the fast-food industry, factors like poor diet and physical inactivity have led to the increase of obesity in children. As a result/ consequence, the physiological and psychological problems might/can occur to these children.