The tourism industry has grown enormously over the last fifty years, and there are few places that are unaffected by it. However, tourism rarely benefits the countries which tourists visit.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

With the advent of Globalization, it is seen that countries are investing a large proportion of their budget in order to promote tourism. It is believed by many people that extension in this industry has proved to be a boon in the overall growth of any country, while many others contradict this view highlighting that tourism hardly shares any beneficial contribution with the community. I am in discord with the given statement and think that despite some shortcomings, tourism has an indispensable addition in the country's betterment which can never be overlooked.

The most important reason is the growth of the service sector. Most of the businesses such as hotels, airlines, road transportation, and many more are indirectly related to the tourism industry, as a result, gains a lot with the growth of the number of tourists. In addition, the accumulated foreign funds help in improving the country's infrastructure and facilities. Apart from this, tourism strengthens international ties and enhances trade opportunities. For example, foreign import and export trading gets a strong boost leading to colossal profits.

The second reason is the dramatic rise in the GDP of a country, which in turn leads to economic growth. Moreover, tourism opens up numerous employment opportunities especially for the local community in developing countries. For instance, local people get a chance to display their talent in the form of cultural dances, authentic foods, and traditional goods. Furthermore, a healthy exchange of local cultures promotes the country's rich historic heritage. Hence, it is an undeniable fact that tourism plays a vital role in the upliftment of the status of a country.

To conclude, there are few risks associated with the expansion of tourism like low wages due to its seasonal dependency, the impact of rise in inflation on local products, traffic congestion. So, it is often argued that promoting the tourism market is not of much support. However, in my opinion, the Government should take the necessary steps to enhance the growth of the tourism industry because of its stupendous efficacy in raising the standard of a country at global levels.