The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

In modern life, some people have lost the habit of eating meals with their families. this phenomenon which are attributed for some reasons, have negative influences on individual families.

there are some reasons leading to this changing pattern of behaviour. The first reason is that people tend to share mealtimes with other relationships. Young people, for instance, are likely to immerse themselves in satisfaction with their friends or lovers in restaurants for varying diet rather than eating the same meals everyday, which inevitably becomes tedious and no longer stimulate taste buds. secondly, for some people who entirely devote their time on pursuing their jobs to move up the career ladder, family is not their top-priority. For example, some parents allow their offspring to have their meal in front of TV or sitting in front of the computer since they have to concentrate on their works.

it is apparent that this problem could pose a threat to family. Firstly, it contributes to weakening family bonds. there would have arguments and conflicts between parents and children that results from the lack of mealtimes which enable people to share news, give guidance and to make plans together. secondly, family members are prone to some health risks. For instance, elderly people who usually experience feelings of loneliness and isolation in mealtimes tend to have higher risks of some mental health problems. In addition, children who are likely to have snacks or to eat junk food at fast food chains due to the absence of family meal will suffer from health consequences such as obesity and hyperactivity.

In conclusion, some causes for this trend which could impact negatively on family can be identified.