6. It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

In many regions of the world, science subjects have not been the top-priority of students to choose to study. there are some reasons behind this phenomenon which have a significant impact on community as a whole.

there are some main causes leading to this trend. Firstly, this domain is widely perceived as demanding in terms of both workload and intellectual content. As a result, it is understandable that some science subjects such as math, biology, chemistry or physic tend to be a huge challenge for students. Secondly, in terms of education, parents are less likely to teach their offspring the importance of science on their lives as well as encourage them to consider learning these subjects is instrumental in pursing a successful career in the future. Moreover, teaching strategies of schools nowadays have become to be out-dated. Pupils usually acquire their lessons from boring textbooks rather than having opportunities for practicing in laboratory or reality, so they do not have interests with this field.

this problem has some detrimental effects to the general public. The first issue is the lack of high-quality workforce that some branches of studies require for research and developmental purposes. Consequently, this will affect national economic expansion, essential for rising living standards. In addition, this trend is associated with the imbalance in the economy which is resulted from the explosion of students who choose to take arts and humanities subjects instead of learning science. it attributes to exacerbate the unemployment problem, leading to some social issues such as rising in criminal rate.

In conclusion, some causes are identified, this tendency could impact negatively on society.