The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impact?

Eating all together as a family is an important tradition in many areas of the world, especially in Italy. This costume is gradually disappearing over the years, and families are starting to eat separately more frequently than before. There are several reasons for this change that is impacting families, and I will discuss them in greater detail in my essay.

First of all, families gathering around the table to eat a meal together are a tradition. In Italy, not only we do so during holidays and festivities, but we also have the "Sunday lunch" costume, generally held at the grandmother's house. It represents a special moment during which the family is reunited with the only purpose of enjoying a delicious, home-cooked meal, and reconnect with the rest of the clan. Unfortunately, with changes in society, these traditions are changing too. People have growing difficulties in finding the time to participate in these family gatherings because of the stress of the workweek. And even when they have the time, they are probably expatriates living abroad who cannot afford to go back home frequently enough.

In addition to these reasons, the growing habit of watching tv-series and movies in streaming or online is another important deal-breaker. Each member of the family, nowadays, has a personal display screen or computer on which it is possible to watch videos. With the hectic pace at which we are living our lives, it is easier and more relaxing to watch some tv show that we like while enjoying our meals at home. While this may seem like an innocent change, it is in fact destroying every quality-time we shared with our family members. We live under the same roof, but we hardly ever spend time together anymore.

In conclusion, the importance of our families is undeniable, but the less time we spend together, the less we will feel the importance of being close to each other. This is, probably, one of the main problems that are determining the change in our society, the fact that we do not feel part of something bigger that needs to be worked on anymore.