Traffic and housing problems in major cities could be solved by moving large companies and factories and their employees to the countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

It is often argued that by moving big manufacturers and factories and their workers to the small towns and suburbs can housing and traffic issues in cities be solved. In my opinion, however, this methodology is useful to a certain extent and there are several actions could be done.

On the one hand, transferring work places and the employees in big cities to the countryside has played a certain role in solving transportation and housing problems. To be more specific, there will be a significant decline in the number of people commuting from and to work on a daily basis. This results in a decrease in the carbon dioxide emissions from transportation releasing to the atmosphere. Furthermore, people are less likely to fritter away their time looking for appropriate homes and paying for the fees of house renting.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that there are several actions that could be done to mitigate these potential problems other than applying this way. The first solution to reduce traffic would be changing our working habits. For example, the Internet can be utilized to connect people so they can work from home and have flexible timetables; meetings can be held as video conferences. Another measure would be tax drivers. In London, for instance, there is a congestion charge which has helped a lot in raising money for better public transport. Moreover, the authorities should advertise public transport as reliable and efficient through social media. Finally, fees of housing for hiring should be given discount for those who are far from homes.

In conclusion, although I agree that moving large companies and factories to non-city places exerts profound impacts upon environment and housing issues, I personally reckon that other positive actions could be taken including changing working habits, imposing taxes, raising awareness about public transport and reducing housing fees.