In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

It is said that authorities should impose heavier taxes on private cars to mitigate the traffic issues and utilize the money for public transportation development. In my opinion, I strongly reckon that this solution brings more harm than good.

On the one hand, the raise of private car taxes used for public transport enhancement has brought certain values. Firstly, heavy taxes would discourage the use of owners’ cars to a certain extent since it is likely to be too expensive. Moreover, much more public transports such as buses, trams would be taken advantages of if the public systems are improved. To illustrate, many people would rather not travel from and to work by bus or train due to its poor light system and shabby seats so that money from taxes can make necessary changes to facilitate these situations.

On the other hand, this measure exerts more pernicious impacts than positive ones. It cannot be denied that higher taxes put a financial burden on the car drivers. At present, people already had to pay a great amount of money for their cars so further taxes would mean less money to be saved at the end of month for someone who have no choice but have to drive. Furthermore, it creates an unfair society owing to discrimination between poor and wealthy people. To be more specific, the rich can afford the increased tax whilst ones with less money would have difficulties.

In conclusion, although some people agree with the idea of rising money on private cars for public transportations, I personally believe that its cons far outweigh its pros.