IN order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advs and disadvs of such a solution

Today, the traffic congestion is becoming more serious in many countries because of the sharp escalation in the number of personal cars. Therefore, many people suppose that applying heavy tax on these vehicle owners and upgrading public transports could deal with traffic issues while others believe this solution would negatively affect to national economy.

To begin with, the idea of high taxes would have a great impact on citizens. A prime suspect lies in if car prices increased significantly for the sake of taxes, there would be less people who could afford to pay for it. As a result, the number of cars would go down and problems with extremely long lines of cars in the rush hours could be solved. Furthermore, money made from taxes was used for improving public transportation, so that people would prefer more to commute by public automobiles such as buses and subways. The higher quality of those transports, the more preferences of using them and the more efficient in solving traffic problems. As such it can be claimed, increasing taxes might be highly effective in some ways through evidences which were indicated above, not only does it reduce the number of cars but it also raises people’s awareness about using public transports.

On the other hand, it is reasonable to argue that neither the nation’s economy nor the life quality of citizens may be harmed by the action of taxing private car owners. It means, when people did not purchase for such a high price of cars just because of taxes, many businessmen could not sell their products which costs more than two, three or even four times than the basic prices. More to the point, it would lead to the decline in economy of the whole country. In addition, when it comes to the life quality, escalating prices of cars makes some people who cannot purchase face with troubles. For instance, provided that a family who did not have wanted to go for a picnic, they would have to moving by shared transports and may have to continue to move from stations with tons of items for the picnic. Comparing to the others who own cars, everything would be easier, specifically in moving and carrying things. Hence, cars still are indispensable vehicle for many people in certain circumstances.

In conclusion, in spite of rising taxes for personal cars brings its own merits, governs should consider carefully before doing, coming along with a gradual and limited increase in case of enforcing this state.