Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. What are the causes? Suggest some measures to reduce traffic jams in big cities.

In some urban areas, traffic jams are happening so frequently that it is considered a huge issue. While there are several reasons for this phenomenon, some solutions can be taken to improve the situation.

One cause of this problem is that the population density in big cities is dramatically high. To explain, many people from other regions migrate to major cities for jobs and studying opportunities, which has contributed to the surge in the number of vehicles on the roads. To illustrate, in Hanoi, traffic congestion happens during peak hours due to the huge population, which is over three million citizens. Clearly, the more people move to the urban areas, the heavier the traffic load is. To alleviate this issue, the government can encourage city dwellers to relocate to the outskirts. In this way, the decline in the population may relieve the traffic jams on the streets. Hanoi is a prime example where the authorities are putting effort into relocating inhabitants to the suburbs to decrease the pressure on the traffic load. Clearly, lowering the number of residents in the metropolitan areas can help mitigate traffic congestion.

Another reason for this issue is the large number of private vehicles. Specifically, in most developed countries, city dwellers use their own vehicles to commute since they are convenient and flexible compared to public transport, which causes traffic congestion as the streets are overloaded. For instance, research shows that Hanoi has 6.7 millions of private vehicles, including 740,000 cars and 5.7 million motorbikes, while its population is about 10 million. As a result, traffic jams occur most of the time in Hanoi, especially during rush hours. Therefore, the government should have some methods to mitigate this problem, one of which is that they should levy higher tariffs on private transport to reduce traffic congestion. For example, in Hanoi, the authorities impose a 200% tax on private cars, which has helped to limit the number of private vehicle owners. Clearly, if the government levy high tariffs on cars, the residents may switch to another choice, public transport and the traffic load can be relieved.

To sum up, a large population and numerous private vehicle ownership are the two culprits behind the problem. I believe that if the solutions mentioned above are implemented effectively, the issue would be mitigated.