In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is often claimed that having a home instead of renting one is more crucial for people. There are many either positive or negative reasons leading to this mentality. While I accept that possessing a special place to call home is a blessing.

One reason why people insist on having their own home is that it can make them feel more stable. To be specific, as a human, they need a home to recharge their batteries after working hours, which may create a sense of belonging and improve mental health. For instance, in Vietnam, it is often advised by the ancestors to settle down before pursuing a career since they have learnt that being mentally stable is a fundamental principle of success. Moreover, home possession can be considered as a good way to save personal assets.To explain, in some big cities, people invest money into lands and houses as immovable properties since their value grows constantly. For example, in Hanoi where properties are as precious as gold due to high population density, many citizens buy them for savings. As a result, people find owning a home is important to their lives.

Despite these, others still hesitate to possess a home as they have to pay for housing tax. To explain, they consider housing tax an unreasonable fee because the house already belongs to them. Therefore, they do not want to waste their money on it. However, housing tax is published by the government to protect national lands and equality in distributing properties between different social classes. Clearly, it is ill founded to state that.

In conclusion, people like it better when owning a home than renting one because it helps them stay stable and it can be an effective way to save money. Personally, I believe having a place of your own is a good thing, and calling it home makes your place even more special.