Transnational marriage has brought more benefits than drawbacks. Do you agree or disagree?

People used to be limited in the choice for lifelong partners but currently transnational marriage has become ubiquitous around the world, which triggers some deprecating comments against this brand new form of marriage. From my perspective, the criticism is unfounded and both the couple and their children can benefit a lot from it.

Admittedly, some opponents may defend their ideas by proposing the problems during the marriage for the sake of the potential cultural shock. However, a man and a woman can hardly get married without understanding and love to each other and these two essential factors, as the precondition for a marriage, are the best tools to minimize the possible conflicts that may be encountered by the husbands and wives from distinctive cultural backgrounds. That is to say, the couple have already foreseen the misunderstanding or controversies in their marriage and think it acceptable from the very beginning , or otherwise there is little likelihood for them to enter the church and promised to love and care each other before God.

Additionally, the whole family, not only the couples, but also the children, may thus have more possibilities for their future life. On account of the present acts for citizenship in most countries, either part in an international marriage has the freedom to become the citizen in his or her partner’s country or at least is able to obtain Permanent Residence in this country. Therefore, resources including job opportunities, medical care or other social welfare become easily available. Besides, children are naturally born in a bi-cultural background, which helps to cultivate their language abilities and enable them to think in a more flexible manner.

In conclusion, transnational marriage should not be regarded as a cursed one which bring sorrow and harm. Instead, as long as this couple is married in the name of love, the whole family will be more benefited rather than suffer from the marriage.