Transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

As technology develops, the nature of problems which people deal with them in the majority of cities, changes. Among these, transport delays and long-lasting journey are common and broad issues in metropolitans. The factors seem to stem from two main roots, and several possible solutions can be taken into account to address them. This essay deals with the underlying factors and introduces some remedies to ameliorate the stated matter.

It can not be denied that the cardinal cause of the problem might arise from the lack of investment for transportation infrastructure, meaning that as these foundations are becoming outdated, they might not work well and in some emergency cases, even they might stop from working. Therefore, more and more funding needs to be considered to fix and renew public services. Another widely observed root seems to be overcrowding. By this, I mean that today, large cities like Tehran in Iran witness conurbation and urban sprawls in which citizens are tackling with the widespread phenomenon, namely traffic congestion. This problem occurs during peak hours, and it is the main issue of bottlenecks in major cities.

Regarding potential solutions, the first and foremost remedy appears to encourage the public and private sector to subsidise public services to improve their situation. Probably, if they can take part in this subject and support each other, we will see a considerable improvement in services such as subway and bus. Moreover, this will enhance the public network system and fosters civic pride. Another program should perhaps be allocating tax incentives for people who choose to do remote working. In this case, the numbers of employees who commute to the workplace will definitely diminish, contributing to less traffic in rush hours. Furthermore, whereas implementing this method may be burdensome to authorities, individuals can try communal car-pooling to reduce the use of private cars.

In conclusion, although old infrastructure and overcrowding tend to be the key factors behind this problem, answers to the problem would range from better funding, working at home, and society member’s cooperation in using personal devices.