Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that unhealthy eating leads to a negative impact on individuals and society as a whole. Some people suggest that the government should tax unhealthy foods. While others believe that it's unfair and unnecessary to impose fat taxes. In this essay, I will discuss these views and give some reasons why unhealthy foods should be taxed.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people think that imposing a fat tax is the necessary thing that government should do to protect people's health. Firstly, imposing a fat tax can help people avoid a lot of diseases such as blood pressure or stomachache. Secondly, if unhealthy food is taxed, there will be fewer people buying these unhealthy foods and they only buy healthy foods. This will encourage people to eat more healthy foods. For example, people will decide to buy fresh potatoes instead of french fries if they are overpriced. Hence imposing a fat tax is the best way to limit eating unhealthy food.

On the other hand, I believe that imposing a "fat tax" is unfair and unnecessary. To begin with, imposing a fat tax can make people have a difficult decision to eat because some people think that unhealthy food is the only affordable meal and the healthy meal have to spend a lot of money for them. In addition, if imposing the fat tax, some people will not eat their favorite food such as soft drinks or sweets. This will make them feel uncomfortable and unfulfilled with their food needs. For instance, children tend to eat unhealthy food such as sweets, if taxing this unhealthy food, their food requests will not be met. Overall, these are the reasons why taxing unhealthy food is not necessary for some people.

In conclusion, although taxing unhealthy food will protect people's health, it seems to me that imposing a fat tax is unfair and unnecessary for some people