UNIT 1 RURAL VS. URBAN AREAS

TOPIC 1 WRITING (40 minutes)

Write at least 250 words on the following topic:

Some people think that cities are the best places to live. Others prefer to live in rural areas.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

More and more people have a tendency to move to the city center resulting in overwhelming and causing problems. This could be from many reasons, meanwhile, there are also many solutions for it.

Due to the benefits the city brings us, it attracts many people from other regions, especially those who are in the remote areas, lacking many things for their lives. Only a few minutes you can get what you want just for a while in a very nearby convenience store. While in the countryside it’s hard for you to buy something you want, it may be far from your house, and doesn't have a variety of choices for you. Besides its convenience, a job career is one of the most popular reasons why people move to the city. Companies, factories, investment, most of them concentrate on the city so people have to come here to find work easily.

With the two reasons above, basing on this we can grab up 2 corresponding solutions. Firstly, the government should put more focus on investment in the countryside, meet the local requirements related to their daily life like helping locals attract capital from foreign to develop their places, opening more stores for them to easily access to their needs. About job opportunities, there are two ways to improve it. with the first one, attracting investment from other companies, building factories, industrialization in the countryside to create jobs for people. Secondly, making use of the advantages of their place, like the paddy field, using technology or teaching people how to use it effectively to improve their life.

Generally, there are two main reasons why people immigrate to big cities. Therefore, in order to solve these problems of overpopulation in cities, we should focus on these to find the suitable solutions and help the people's lives get better.