Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

At present, It is true that universities and colleges are now providing degrees through online courses instead of classes delivered on campus. While there might be some benefits, I would argue that this phenomenon has far more drawbacks.

On the one hand, this trend seems beneficial simply because providing qualifications through distance courses conducted on the Internet could reduce a wide range of costs for those who involved in. To take most companies which run business online as an example, they often cut rental fees of big offices and electricity bills. Furthermore, many people who use online services do not also have to pay for travel. As a result, these people and businesses may have higher budgets to spend on other useful purposes.

In spite of the arguments above, I believe downsides are more significant for the following reasons. The first disadvantage is that online programs might have some negative impacts on students' performance. For example, most students who take part in online courses lose concentration on study due to the lack of supervision. Therefore, these students are likely to receive a bad evaluation, and this may limit their job opportunities and career success in the future. Another drawback is that distance courses conducted on the Internet tend to reduce the teaching quality of schools and universities. At my university, for instance, many students who take online courses have fewer direct interactions such as group discussions and presentations which are important in the modern workplace. Consequently, this could weaken the quality of the new labor force, which may limit the economic development of many countries in the long term

In conclusion, although I recognize the possible positive effects of the discussed offering degrees through distance courses conducted on the Internet, it seems to me that the disadvantages still outweigh the advantages.