Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is a basic right for mankind in this world. For this reason, men and women should have access to the same educational opportunities. However, I do not agree with the opinion of accepting the equal proportion of both sexes in every university subject.

Having the same proportion of male and female students on all degree courses is unrealistic because student numbers on any course depend on the applications that the institution receives. If a university decided to fulfil a course with the equal gender, it would need enough applicants to attend this subject and spend much time on college enrolment. In reality, many courses are more popular with only one gender. For example, nursing tends to attract female students rather than men, so that it would be difficult to make a balanced proportion between men and women.

Apart from practical concerns expressed above, I strongly believe that it will be wrong if universities discriminate against student due to their gender. These institutions should continue to select the best candidates for each subject according to their qualification. In this process, it is undoubtedly that both men and women have the same opportunities to attend a subject as per their individual merit that can prove that they are eligible. If a female student is the best candidate for a place on an engineering course, it is surely wrong to reject her in favour of a male student with a lower grade of fewer qualifications.

In conclusion, the selection of university students should base on individual merits and qualifications, and gender should be irrelevant in accepting students. However, it would be impractical and unfair to change the selection procedure based on gender.