University education should be free for all students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The prevalence of tertiary education has been appealing to a variety of students with diverse backgrounds and religions to secure a place at university. Although this might enlighten why policy-makers contend that university tuition fees exemption should be granted to all undergraduates, I am opposed to this view.

On the one hand, the subsidised education system will benefit tertiary students in certain ways. The initial benefit is to ease students’ financial burdens, which might improve their academic performance. In practice, higher education students with the back of free tuition schemes are able to steer clear of a part-time work, which, in turn, is likely to facilitate them to achieve exceptional academic test scores. Another advantage is to provide students with precious opportunities to invest on set texts and reference books. Attending a university with fee remission could help students to spend expenditures purchasing textbooks, which might aid their academic purposes at university.

On the other hand, zero tuition education might have detrimental effects on lecturers’ income as well as university facilities. The fact that students are not required to pay their tuition fees could lead to a significant decrease in teachers’ income. Take Vietnam as a prime example, fee remission schemes applied for those students specialized in teacher education exerts severe pressure on lecturers’ financial problems, resulting in the ineffectiveness of teaching and learning activities since those distinguished lecturers need to allocate their time in extra classes in a bid to earn supplement income. In tandem with this, providing a free-education system will deteriorate learning equipment. Lack of revenue stemming from free of tuition fees might lead to the decline in university budget, which fails to upgrade cutting-edge technology to meet students’ learning demand.

In conclusion, although having students attending university without paying tuition fees might motivate them to enhance their academic results, this will put teachers’ income along with learning facilities at risks. Therefore, it is my firm conviction that undergraduates should take on their payment responsibility to the university