In many countries today, if people want to find work, they have to move away from their families and friends. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The tendency of leaving relatives for better career prospects has increasingly become prevalent in a myriad of countries. Although this development has enormous benefits, I argue that its downsides surpass advantages for the following reasons.

On the one hand, moving away from families and friends for job seeking can provide individuals with better economic opportunities. The interconnected transport network in affluent areas has attracted numerous companies and enterprises to locate their headquarters and production sites, offering a broader spectrum of available job vacancies. As a result, if individuals migrate to these places, the chance to secure a permanent job is relatively higher than that in their hometown, which can economically sustain their survival. For instance, due to the economic vibrancy in Hanoi, an influx of rural residents has left their hometown for Hanoi to seek better living standards.

Nevertheless, this tendency potentially exerts some severe impacts on individuals and society. First and foremost, the migration pattern to metropolitan areas for job opportunities can leave the countryside derelict. When residents leave their homes for more affluent cities, their hometowns can experience workforce shortage, which disrupts the agricultural practices. As a result, this disruption can induce a reduction in the number of crops, threatening food security and society as a whole. Additionally, living away relatives and friends may have a negative influence on the existing relationship among individuals. For instance, many couples who are in long distance relationships have undergone conflicts and arguments stemming from distrust and misunderstandings.

In conclusion, although this tendency can offer individuals superior economic benefits, I argue that the drawbacks far outweighs the advantages concerning its influences on relationships and society. When people opt for living away from home, the physical distance can result in conflicts and the lack of trust among couples as a result of inadequate communications. Also, this trend can leave many areas underdeveloped and abandoned owing to the lack of workforce.