University should accept equal number of male and female students in every subject. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a general controversy on whether university should have the equality of gender in the number of students in each major. While I accept that this idea could bring the several benefits for students, I believe that it is not necessary to recruit equal quantity of boys and girls in a class.

On the one hand, the same figure of men and women in each subject may built a comfortable and convenient environment of study for students. In deed, people are usually under pressure when they are staying with the large number of peers who have the opposite gender. For example, if a student is the only boy in a class, he would be paid attention a lot from others, especially from the teacher, which is probably the most annoying and worrying thing for anyone in the university. Also, he could be regarded as a weird person because he select the subject that is tendentiously not preferred by boys. Furthermore, he may find it difficult to choose a friend for chatting or a partner for doing project.

On the other hand, it is not always easy and essential to have the balance number of male and female students in every major. It might be due to the fact that the natural interests and overall academic performances of both sexes are not often identical to each other. For instance, most of girls are not interested and good at science, so it is really difficult for them to compete against boys in the math class. Also, the major they study in the University has a significant impact on their future jobs and obviously, certain jobs are gender-specific. One example of this is that it is unrealistic for a woman to become a plumber or a construction worker. Therefore, students should be given the freedom of what they enjoy studying.

In conclusion, while I support the idea that university should recruit equal number of boys and girls in each class in order to create the comfortable study environment, the same figure of male and female students is by no means vital in every subject because of the differences in their interests and academic abilities.