Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that every courses in universities should accept equal proportion of both genders. While it is true that having male and female students in every university subject is necessary, I disagree with the idea that the number of every gender should be equal.

To begin with, there are several reasons why the universities should permit male and female for all fields. Firstly, due to human rights, both genders could be permitted to study on their favorite subject. Therefore, students can take a big step in pursuit of their dreams and achieve success easily. If they are not accepted to their interested majors just because of gender, they might give up learning and lost faith in life. Secondly, since every classroom has both of male and female students like a miniature society, both sexes can increase their communication skills and level of competition from opposite gender. This helps them to develop comprehensively.

However, I believe that having the same number of men and women in all degree courses is simple unrealistic. First, because many courses are more popular with one gender than the other, the universities can not have equal numbers of applicants from both genders. For example, nursing courses tend to attract more female applicants, it is impossible to fill these courses if fifty percent of the places needed to go to males. Additionally, universities select the best candidates for each course according to their qualifications, which leads to the same opportunities for men and women. As a result, the applicants will be successful when they work hard to achieve good grade at school. If a female student is the best candidate for a place on a course, it would be wrong to reject her in favour of a male student having lower grades.

In conclusion, while it is necessary to have both genders in every university subjects, I disagree with the idea that every subject must have fifty percent of students each gender.