The use of electronic media has a negative effect on personal relationships between people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the use of electronic media negatively affects personal relationships between people. From my perspective, I advocate this statement but I believe that it also has some positive effects and they will be explained in the paragraphs below.

On the one hand, electronic media are likely to be a factor contributing to worse relationships between people. First and foremost, the use of electronic devices such as smartphones or computers is causing people to heavily rely on messages and phone calls instead of meeting face-to-face. Children who use them too much usually lack the incentive to participate in outdoor activities with their peers, which causes them to lack some l necessary social skills, and physical strength. Moreover, if they play computer games or chat on mobile phones too much, they can get addicted to it in the long run. Therefore, their communication skills get worse and this may reduce their impression on others.

On the other hand, there are a variety of benefits that electronic media brings to people in terms of their relationships with others. One good thing is that they can keep in touch with their friends who live far away from them. Furthermore, electronic media can help everyone widen their relationships and make friends from every corner of the world thanks to social networking. Last but not least, it also makes people feel connected to society even when they are alone as it enables them to know what other people are doing via social networking, chatting, video calls, etc.

In summary, electronic media may cause people to be distant from each other. However, it also helps us get closer when we are far from each other. Obviously, the disadvantages are not significant enough to outweigh the positive sides so i believe that electronic media will thrive even further in the future.