The use of social media (e.g. Facebook and Twitter) is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, the use of social media has significantly transformed the way people communicate with each other. While some believe this is a negative development, I suppose this brings more harmful effects than benefits.

It is undeniable that social platforms help communication become easier than ever before. People can make video calls and share documentaries at any time and anywhere they want. Additionally, It allows people, especially elderly people to keep up to date with current affairs, fashion, and arts. Moreover, social networking sites help to sustain and strengthen relationships, for example, by using Facebook or Instagram, students can keep in touch with their friends and family members while studying abroad.

Despite having some potential benefits, I believe the disadvantages of social media outweigh the advantages. These days, many people tend to stay at home, using social platforms for hours on end instead of spending time outside. This, in the long term, can create a sedentary lifestyle and lead to numerous health problems such as obesity or depression. People can also be addicted to social networking sites, as a result, finding it difficult to concentrate on a daily basis and struggle with their work and study. Another drawback is the risk of hacking. Social media can open the door to deceptive practices, for instance, people can be stolen personal information or credit card details.

In conclusion, although social media is proven to have a wide range of positive effects, I am of the opinion that people should not replace it with face-to-face interaction due to the numerous potential drawbacks it brings to our daily lives.