The use of social media is replacing face to face interaction among many people in society Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In this day and age, social media is becoming so ubiquitous that people view it as the substitute for real-life interactions. From my personal perspective, while this trend has several benefits, I believe that the downsides of this phenomenon overcomes the advantages.

On the one hand, the new state of technology has affected the way humans socialized negatively. To begin with, people nowadays are getting overly dependent on social networks and the internet, which can provide them with as much information as they need. Consequently, this may cause addiction, mental illness and lack of interpersonal skills. Therefore, people can be reluctant to communicate with others by overusing those social platforms. Secondly, social media usage may reduce emotional connection. For example, many people pay too much attention to notifications on social media apps such as Facebook or Instagram rather than talking with their friends sitting next to them. Thus, people may become less emotional as well as lose a sense of communication.

On the other hand, the internet has a variety of pros. People can easily access their community or relevant information at fingertips. Furthermore, global citizens can be connected with others on the internet and social platforms such as Facebook and Skype, and learn more about other cultures and foreign languages by communicating via those apps.

To sum up, social media is advantageous for people all over the world. However, the pros are outweighed by the cons of lack face-to-face interactions.