The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Social media has deeply infiltrated into our everyday life and is believed to have the potential to replace human’s face-to-face interactions. From my perspective, while social media may bring about some drawbacks, I would content that its advantages eclipse these negative aspects.

On the one hand, social networks are widely considered as an effective method for information exchange and relationship maintenance. Those working and studying abroad are enable to keep in contact with their family and friends regardless of geographic locations thanks to video-sharing platform such as Skype or Messenger. Moreover, the use of social media may lend a great helping hand to business and marketing sections as they can spread their advertising campaigns to consumers in every corner of the world with a few mouse clicks. Hence, not only reducing advertising expenses but also improving market coverage. Furthermore, the explosion of online platforms give people the ability to choose and interact with everyone they want, this can enhance the harmonization of people from different cultures and countries, which will bring us closer together.

Although social media has many benefits, there still exist some noteworthy drawbacks. The first thing to mention is its contribution to human’s deprivation of communication skills. Since spending a large amount of time on the Internet and getting used to the telegraphic styles can have a negative influence on their real-life interaction skills. People may not be able to understand other’s body language expressions or eye contacts, as a consequence, they will gradually be isolated from real society, even losing sense of community. Additionally, many youngsters prefer living in a virtual world on social sites than engaging in real-life relationships. This may pose a threat to their mental health, such as increase anxiety level and loneliness in the long run.

In conclusion, the drawbacks that social network can replace our face-to-face interactions can not overshadow its major advantages.