The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society.Do you think the advatages outweigh the dsadvantages?

Social networking sites are developing at an unprecedented pace, threatening the interpersonal connections directly. While the convenience and financial gains of social network are undeniable, I firmly hold the view that this is an detrimental trend due to negative effects on human mental health and human safety.

On the one hand, the advent of social network paralleled changes in interactions and businesses. Firstly, as social networking sites depend mainly on Internet signal, distance and time zone are no longer the obstacle to human contacts, which is a huge advantage for those who live miles away from home. Moreover, exchanging information within organizations or between service providers and their clients has become much more straightforward and cost-effective as social media requires reasonable fees compared to conventional media. As a result, there has been a boom in e-commerce as social networking sites enable firms to reach millions of target customers within their budget.

However, numerous consequences in terms of human psychological well-being and cyber security render the replacement of direct contacts by virtual world harmful to the society.

Needless to say, cyber criminals can take advantage of the convenience of social network by connecting hundreds of victims spontaneously. Additionally, due to the nature of online interactions, people can never really know who are behind the screen, which later could place them at risk of being fooled as all the data and information given can be faked. Another threat that users of social networking sites might face is isolation and depression. In other words, since online relationships are often more fragile and insecure than face-to-face contact, mutual understanding and deeply connecting tend to not happen. Therefore, despite having hundreds of friends online, teenagers nowadays are more likely to experience loneliness and dissatisfaction with their lives in comparison with their parents.

In summary, a dominance of social media will do more harm than good to the society as direct connections have advantages that can not be replaced by online ones.