The use of social media, such as Facebook or Twitter, is replacing face to face contact in this century. Do you think the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantage?

In this digital age, there are many ways for us to communicate with each other. Some people say that contacting via social media is better than talking eye-to-eye, however, from my think of view, this may bring about more drawbacks than benefits. This essay will present reasons for my point of view.

To begin with, contacting online can help us to save money to meet each other. For instance, the number of people who use Facebook and Twitter has increased rapidly in recent years. This means they can talk to their family and friends who live far from them more easily, without paying too much money for traveling or international call charges. In addition, students who study abroad prefer using free communication applications to keep in touch with their parents because they can update their lives constantly.

On the other hand, there are numerous disadvantages in terms of spending lots of time on the internet instead of direct meetings. Children who always look at their phones are not able to behave properly to adults. People may not have a chance to improve their socializing skills if they do not have in-person conversations. For i.e, couples who chat on Snapchat or Messenger all the time tend to have a weak bond and their relationship may not last long. Another flaw is that virtual communication is not as effective as real communication. Messages cannot express our feelings in the most accurate way. Confusing messages can be misunderstood by others, which causes cyberbullying.

In conclusion, although these applications have some respectable advantages, there are also some significant downsides. In some difficult situations, it is acceptable to converse without meeting face-to-face, but everyone needs to arrange a time to meet in person rather than only using their phones.