The use of social media, such as Facebook or Twitter, is replacing face to face contact in this century. Do you think the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantage?

While I accept that social networking sites make communication between people more convenient, I believe that there are also have some negative effects on our skills of personal interaction. Overall, in this context, I would argue that the drawbacks in the decline of social skills outweigh the advance in technology.

On the one hand, using social media is beneficial in some ways. For example, people may want to post their latest news on Facebook, enabling their friends and family to keep abreast of what has been happening and to send comments. One simple Facebook posting can reach hundreds of contacts. Another advantages is that those who have psychological problems such as autism, or who lack of self-confidence in face-to-face meetings, can find an alternative outlet to express what they are thinking and feeling, or even to exchange pleasantries with others.

On the other hand, this trend has some drawbacks. Firstly, some people h=may become over-reliant on acquaintances in the virtual world. There are some unscrupulous users of social media, who adopt a false identity to trick people and acquire information about them for online scams and cyber crime. Secondly, such sites discourage real interaction. When obsessed with Facebook, Twitter or similar sites, some youngsters in particular are reluctant to spend time with their true friends and their families. My friend, for instance, is so addicted to exchanging messages on her phone that she ignores everyone when we gather together for a chat. While I try to adopt a laid-back attitude towards this behaviou, there is now almost a complete breakdown in communication between us.

In conclusion, I consider that the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages, and the ability articulate thoughts and emotions to others face-to-face may soon lost altogether.