The use of violence in music lyrics, video games and films seen by children is causing concern in many societies. What problems may be caused by this type of violent imagery, and what steps could be taken to lessen the impact on young people?

Children experience unprecedented screen violence not just on television, but also on computers, video games, music and touch-screen devices in many countries the world over. Even though such media provides users with entertainment, there are two main challenges associated with such products, and also two straightforward measures we can take to protect the young people.

Arguably, the greatest problem caused by violent images is the aggression that young viewers themselves suffer from. When a child is playing violent games and thinking about how they can hurt their enemies, not only the ability to relax is severely curtailed but also learning violent behavior can be occurred. This can rapidly lead to antisocial behaviors, and ultimately end up committing minor crimes. A further serious impact is reduced academic performance. With spending a great deal of time to play and watch such unproductive products promoting violence, student's schoolwork is more likely to be diluted. There is an abundance of evidence supports this idea. For example, research conducted in the United States and published in the Journal of School in 2010 showed that gamers' grades were often below-average school grades compared to their counterparts who were not interested in gaming.

To counteract these dangers, perhaps the most efficient and most immediate solution would be for parents to monitor and regulate movie-viewing, music-listening, and video-playing. For instance, parents and their children can make a deal to purchase non-violent products with each other. This screening method would lessen the crisis and prevent children from playing games that are not suitable. Another remedy may be to produce videos and music with more positive themes about non-violent conflict resolution, for example, thus learning a life skill can be occurred unconsciously instead of using traumatic behavior and aggressive attitude to solve problems.

In conclusion, the main issues regarding the exposure to violent for young viewers and users seem to be aggressive behavior and low academic performance. The key solution would be monitoring and producing less violent products.