Using advanced technology in agriculture, such as chemical fertilisers and machinery, has resulted in producing more food. Some people, however, think these technologies have negative effects.

In recent years, a boon to the invention of high-tech machinery devices and powerful chemical compounds such as pesticides and fertilizers, farming has witnessed a great boom. However, some people believe these facilities lead to an increase in food production and quality, it is noteworthy that there could be some drawbacks besides the advantages of these chemicals and farming machines.

On the one hand, it is eloquent to everyone that without the help of technology and chemistry, attaining the high quality and amount of food products may be difficult. Decline in the soil power is an inevitable event which not only affects the quality of the crops during the time, but it plunges the farmers’ profit from the products sell by decreasing in harvested products. For instance, although in the past era tomato was growing in 20 days with the average weight of 50 grams approximately, these days it plunged to 10days with a mean weight of 150 grams. Another merit for recently developed farming devices is the speed of planting and harvesting. Recent statistics have shown that rice planting speed has increased to 100 crops per minute, however, it would be at last 10 pieces per minute manually. So, thanks to recent technology development in the agriculture field, it is acceptable to use high-tech machinery and chemicals in order to make an improvement in this industry.

On the other hand, despites the advantages of using technology in farming, drawbacks are inevitable. Joblessness is the utmost important disadvantage of machines entry in the farms. A good illustration for this is the machinery revolution in developing countries which has affected the workers’ employment at farms that leads to workers eradicating by burgeoning modern farming machines. Also, impacts of fertilizers’ overusing on humans genetic is a controversial issue which has been proven by food and drug administration. Therefore, recent scientific analysis has proven the negative effect of farming chemicals on mice fertilizing rate and babies’ health that leads to 30% more mentally harmed than normal ones.

In conclusion, entrance of technological farming methods in this field, increase the productivity and speed up the farming but harms the employment and humans genetic. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that chemical and machinery developments merits outweigh the demerits.