As water is a valuable resource governments all over the world should control how much water their citizens use To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

In the modern world, the scarcity of water has become a heated problem across the world. While i partly agree with the idea that the governing body holds the power to control the water usage, i am firmly of the view that the role of households should be emphasized.

On the one hand, it is obvious that governments should restrict the amount of water their inhabitants use. The population and the demand are increasing and natural resources, especially freshwater, are being used more than any other time in the human history. However, people have been unaware of the devastating effects of this overuse yet. Therefore, the government should play the vital role in controlling the water consumption of people in their country. It is extremely serious for the governments' agenda to control the increasing rate of population growth. Firstly, governments should set out rules such as a protocol to deal with the population explosion. That is the way that China, for example, has recently followed. In particular, China has set the law of limitation on the number of offspring a couple can have. With the restriction on the number of children in each family, China has successfully reduced the rate of population boom, and that has in turn cut down the resulting damages in water provision and and living environment. In addition, the government also need to build water pine systems to encourage citizens to make use of recycled water.

On the other hand, i personally opine that individuals' action should be recognized as a more crucial factor to reduce the water distribution on a larger scale. People need to educate themselves and share with other people about the importance of the reduction of water usage. For instance, after realizing that reduced water consumption can lower individual expenses and time spent acquiring water as well as improve the availability of water for other uses, people can limit their water usage on a daily basis. People awareness is the key of water over-consuming issue compared to compelling people to comply with the strict rules enforced by the governments. No one can deny the fact that it is individual but not anyone else, knows exactly their family's demand for water, in hence, they know clearly which solution can be taken to best fit their family to reduce the use of water.

In conclusion, the current issue of dealing with the water shortage requires necessary actions of both governments and individuals. While there are many solutions to this problem, the role of households in keeping balanced water distribution is indispensable.