Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that developed countries are supposed to support developing countries who are suffering from natural disasters. This essay agrees with the statement because wealthy countries occupy more natural resources and every nation are responsible to protect human lives.

To begin with, developed countries are obliged to assist other nations, especially when these countries are under the threats from nature. It is commonly agreed that rich countries control more natural resources compared with poor countries. While wealthy nations exploit these resources which may be the cause of natural disasters and become richer, poor countries are vulnerable to disasters due to lack of infrastructures and money. For example, as Japan purchases a large number of woods and other natural resources from China each year, the deforestation in China becomes severe. Therefore, many responsible developed countries have given support to countries attacked by disasters such as hurricane and earthquake by donations and other assistances.

In addition, every country should protect the basic rights of human beings regardless of their races and nationalities and wealthy counties are more capable of saving lives. One of the most important human rights is the right to live. If the right is violated by disasters, humans are supposed to unite as one since the international cooperation could maximise the number of people saved from hazard. Take United Nations for example, the organisation formed by mainly developed countries sends rescue teams to assist poor countries when their people are in need.

In conclusion, developed countries are responsible to help poor countries facing natural disaster since they usually consume more resources which results in disasters in poor countries and it is a common duty for all countries to protest human lives in any circumstances.