As well as making money, business should also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold strong belief that enterprises should embrace their social responsibilities to make a contribution to the general public in addition to gaining profits. I personally agree with this statement, without such social responsibilities, many businesses can cause harm to not only the whole community but also lead to environmental depletion.

On the one hand, it is of great importance for an enterprise to gain economic benefits to survive in today’s competitive markets. Firstly, the primary objective of any firm is to maximize profits. This is exemplified by the fact that a firm should cover its day to day running costs consisting of its monthly electricity bill, staff salaries and other necessary expenses, which makes up for the total revenue a company yields. On top of making profits to cover its basic expenses, an enterprise should also reinvest the total revenue back into the whole organization, not only generating a big motivation to push their staff to work harder to achieve the desired aims but also enticing more well-qualified employees. One standout example originates from the fact that Vingroup, a flourishing Vietnamese corporation often allocates a large amount of financial resources to several local charities, educational programs and promotion campaigns to make a significant contribution to the whole society, alluring numerous high-quality workers.

On the other hand, there are several compelling reasons why many businesses should bear some civic duties on top of making great profits. The chief justification for this statement is that they would raise more awareness about curbing some detrimental impacts on the environment, and cooperate with the local residents to preserve the environment in the long run. Moreover, by contributing to the community, it not only helps a firm promote its brand image to the public but also further develops their annual sales. Donating to local charities,offering more job opportunities and organizing educational programs might be significantly contributory to the whole community to some extent, which makes an enterprise reap some handsome benefits in both fulfilling civic responsibilities and boosting their image to the public.

In conclusion, I strongly advocate the idea that many businesses should take social responsibilities into consideration to fulfill their civic duties and be accountable to the society.