As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some claim that business organizations should also have social obligations. While I acknowledge that making a profit is the top priority of any company in order to better survive in a competitive world, I still hold the thought that corporations should take a contribution to society within their sphere of influence.

On the one hand, it is rational that making business activities more and more lucrative is not only the fundamental element for the stable growth of companies but also brings certain benefits to society. First and foremost, having a financial abundance would support companies to avoid experiencing running out of capital, which can lead to some potential collapse such as bankruptcy, or taking on risky debts. Indeed, money is indispensable for an organization to cover operation costs, such as employees' wages and facility payments. In addition, in the context of competitive commercial activities nowadays, with the purpose of surpassing other rivals and holding a larger market share, a large budget is required to invest in long-term strategies, for instance, product innovations or marketing campaigns. Secondly, if there are more and more profitable businesses, then it definitely opens more career opportunities for people. As a result, life quality would be improved and the crime rate which has increased exponentially recently would be lessened.

Nevertheless, despite of aforementioned reasons, I would contend that because of the benefits of both society and the sustainable growth of businesses themselves, social duty should become one of the top priorities of companies. To commence with, those corporations that generate profit based on natural resources, such as mineral or fuel manufacturers, aside from exploiting the natural environment, are highly responsible for maintaining the ecosystem balance. In fact, overexploitation without any measure to restore the original habitat and process industrial waste absolutely impacts negatively on the Earth and human life. And of course, such irresponsible actions prevent companies from sustainable development objectives. The second thing worth elaborating on is that if companies are enthusiastic about community projects, and cooperate well with governments to establish charity funds or environmental protection programs, their brand awareness would be enhanced effectively. As a result, such firms would get very high credibility from people leading to an increase in sales. Moreover, they would be received government assistance, especially in the period that they are encountering various challenges and obstacles in the economic crisis.

In conclusion, scaling up businesses and making money is the main goal of companies. However, I am a proponent of making a dedication to citizens’ benefits would facilitate the sustainability of any company.