What are the advantages and disadvantages of CCTV cameras to fight crime.

Crimes are increasing at a significant rate in recent times. To tackle this, installation of CCTV cameras is one control measure. However, it has both advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, I will discuss how CCTV cameras can help to fight against crimes, and their drawbacks.

One of the main advantages of installing CCTV cameras is surveillance. These cameras can act as guardians, and can supervise public places such as banks, colleges, and schools etcetera. These cameras can deter criminals to commit crimes in such areas . For example, offenders are very unlikely to commit crimes such as stealing purses or shoplifting in the presence of CCTV surveillance, in fear of being caught. Moreover, CCTV cameras can be used to identify offenders and can provide substantial evidence which could be useful for police to take lawful action against those offenders.

on the other hand, the major disadvantage of CCTV cameras is high cost of installation. in order to install these cameras, large amount of money investment and maintenance required. This expense can be easily affordable by big organisations, while it could be a financial liability to a small scale business. moreover, CCTV camera surveillance could have technological vulnerabilities which could be exploited by people with malicious intentions such as hackers.

In conclusion, it is clear that CCTV cameras have advantages as well as disadvantages. On the one hand, it could deter criminals not to commit crimes and can provide evidence concerned person if required, on the other hand, their high cost of installation and vulnerabilities could be detrimental to society or businesses.