What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

Nowadays, paper exams are used widely for learning assessment purpose in school system varying from countries to countries. In recent years, they have been seen as an easy and effective tool to judge students' performance and schools and universities are starting to make their student do exams at earlier age. But what are the benefits of this situation, and what are the drawbacks? In this essay, I will look at both sides and try to draw some conclusions.

Let's begin by looking at the advantage of sitting an exam. One of the major plus point is tracking learner's process can be devastating without regular tests. For instance, it seems easier for those who involve in lots of class activities because teacher can do a check up regularly. But for those who do not, how can we make sure that they can catch up with their peers and no one is left behind? Moreover, learners who are actively involved can not be seen as qualified without a proper writing test paper being marked to see if they really understand what are taught in class.

Another benefit of making children do exams is to make them be familiar with the notion of sitting an exams for hours. As this will happen more often as they are getting older, practicing for exams ahead will help young learners to feel well-prepared without being over stressful. Further more, preparing for an exam means you will have to do a lot of reading for references. Generally, it is good for their future learning prospects.

Turning to the other side of the argument, it can be argued that doing exams tend to be redundant at early age. In other words, young children should be tested on their physical abilities and how they demonstrate their soft skills with their mates. The testing takes time and can be especially challenging if there is also a language barrier to deal with.

Another issue is that paper exams tend not to cover entirely the knowledge in that school semester. They can only cover a part of it, so it is unreasonable to judge a student's performance in a whole year based on one test. There are also other outside elements that need to be taken into account since they affect directly to the test result, such as: illness, accidents or bereavement, etc.

All things considered, deciding on whether children should do more or less tests and exams is never easy. Teachers and parents will need to weight up the pros to the cons that exams bring. Personally, tests can be an effective way to aid teacher in school if they are used in an effective way.