When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a debate about the priorities when it comes to pursuing an occupation. While some believe that salary level should be at the top of the list, I partly disagree with this statement. From my perspective, although money is essential for its immediate effects on daily life, there are still significant factors such as job satisfaction or expertise enhancement which should be worth-considered in the long- term.

On the one hand, I agree that the major reason for job seekers to prioritize salary is its aid for daily life basic needs. In fact, there are plenty of expenses needed to be taken care of every day for workers such as housing rental, food, or electricity bills. That’s why most people tend to apply for a well-paid job so the capacity to cover all the living costs would be ensured. On the contrary, when people take an occupation based on their enjoyment and the financial issues cannot be solved, they will not be able to support even themselves. As a result, their interest in what they are doing would be gone even if it is their favorite job. For example, individuals choosing the path of becoming an artist or a musician usually do not guarantee good financial help for their families.

On the other hand, I have a strong belief in a higher importance level of job satisfaction over money because of productivity and mental benefits. It has been proven that working gratification can boost not only work efficiency but also generate happiness for a person in his or her life. In the long run, this would result in the enhancement of expertise as well as promotional prospects of an employee in the organization. Hence, having joy and a good salary at the same time is totally obvious. Take the executives of large cooperation in the world such as Google, for instance, they quit their current job which is a dream for others without any hesitation just to work for a smaller company or run their own business. That shows how much they value satisfaction over the money they earn.

In conclusion, I have no denial of the preference for wages when selecting a job due to its direct financial effect on people’s lives, but I think that the necessity of taking other factors such as job satisfaction into account should also be considered.