When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that the salary is the key consideration to make a decision on what a chosen career is. Personally, I believe that in addition to money, other factors are also equally decisive.

On the one hand, it is undeniable about the necessity of money to meet human’s basic demands on life. Most employees wish to have high or good salary to cover their living costs, and meet their material and spiritual needs. Money, for example, is needed to pay for monthly bills, rent, food costs, and health care services. If people decide on their jobs because of their enthusiasm for such careers or their enjoyment without much caring about the salary offered, they might have no enough money to raise their family and live in a pleasant way.

On the other hand, other factors are necessary to be considered as important as the salary. Firstly, personal relationships and working atmosphere are crucial when deciding on an occupation. A manager or host with a thoughtful attitude and friendly and good-humored colleagues, for example, make a great contribution to determine whether people want to work or not. Secondly, passion and enjoyment for a career, position, professional achievements, skills they learn are also taken into account to gain their job satisfaction. Vietnamese athletes, for instance, are often paid low salaries, even it is difficult to cover living costs, but they still attempt to become professional.

In conclusion, while I accept that salary is an element affecting option of a job, but I believe that it cannot outweigh other factors.