When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that architects should concentrate in the function of buildings instead of its outside form. While the building needs to serve its intended purposes, I believe that the appearance of building is also one of the key factors in design.

On the one hand, the function of the building is, of course, very important. High-rise buildings which concentrate in urban cities is the best solution to solve housing problems. In fact, a lot of people move to large cities to seek great career opportunities and as a result is the increasing of population density. Therefore, multi-story buildings are the best way to provide accommodation for urban dwellers who can able to pay for exorbitant rents in big cities. For example, in Ho Chi Minh City, there are a lot of apartment buildings are being used for renting even though they are really eyesore.

On the other hand, I believe that when architects design the building, they should also consider about its appearance. Firstly, it is a necessary factor if the owners want to attract customers in the business. It is true that the characteristic buildings can become popular places where can bring an enormous estate income because of developing tourism industry and commercial services. For instance, Bitexco building was not only the highest building but also the famous and representative structure in Ho Chi Minh City before being replaced by another building. Secondly, although the development of hideous buildings is an inevitable consequence of modernization, the historic buildings has still great meanings.

In conclusion, the function and appearance play equal role in the design of buildings. In my opinion, we should consider to balance between the outward appearance and intended use of buildings.