When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are comments that a building's function is more important than its exterior in the design stage. In my opinion, although an attractive appearance is beneficial sometimes, I agree with the idea that a construction's purpose should be more highly valued.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that a magnificent looking structure can bring a wide range of benefits. Firstly, it can enhance significantly the value of a building, especially a commercial or shopping center, since it looks more attractive, professional and high class. As a result, the more customers are attracted to the building, the more profit is generated, which can benefit the building's owners enormously. Secondly, buildings with an aesthetic design can contribute to the appearance of a city, and may make it become one of the most distinguishing places on the map. For example, a lot of cities, such as Istanbul and Amsterdam, where are well-known for their architectural beauty have become popular destinations for tourists.

On the other hand, the purpose of a building, in my view, is the key consideration when designing it. Each building has its own practical use, such as schools, hospitals and office buildings, so architects have to design it with a view to satisfying the requirement of the building's users. For example, a shopping mall has to possess a wide walkway, a good lighting system and adequate emergency exits. In addition, people use a particular place because of what it offers inside, not merely because of what it looks like on the outside. For instance, a cinema is supposed to have a well-designed sound system, a big screen and comfortable seats so that clients using service can conveniently enjoy movies.

In conclusion, although both factors are important, I think that the construction of building without a proper function-bases design, the gorgeous appearance of a building is only a waste of investment.