When families have a meal together, it is considered social activity. What are the advantages of a family meal? Do you think eating together is important to people in your country?

It is irrefutable that eating together is a social activity. Sharing dinner gives everyone a sense of identity. It can help ease day-to-day conflicts and establish traditions and memories that can last a lifetime. Eating together is significant to all families. In the following paragraph, I shall explain my viewpoint.

The first and foremost advantage of eating together is that it creates a sense of belonging. Conversations during the meal provide opportunities for the family to bond and learn from one another. It is a chance to share information and news of the day and give attention to children and teens. Family meals foster warmth, security, love, and feelings of belonging. It can be a unifying experience for all. Secondly, family mealtime is the perfect opportunity to teach appropriate table manners, etiquette, and social skills. Parents can be perfect role models, and children learn by following them. What is more, meals prepared and eaten at home are usually more nutritious and healthy. They contain more fruits, vegetables, dairy products, and nutrients such as fibre, calcium, vitamins A and C, and folate.

Furthermore, research shows that frequent family dinners are associated with lower rates of smoking, drinking, and illegal drug use in pre-teens and teenagers compared to families that eat together two or fewer times per week. Additionally, children do better in school when they eat more meals with their parents and family. For example, in the Philippines, most people do value shared mealtime. However, the fast-paced life and influence of the global culture are taking some away from this

custom. Fortunately, some recent studies have shown that even in developed countries, people realize the importance of family meals

and downshifting. It is time to bring the “family” to the dinner table.

To conclude, eating together is an important social activity. That is why it has been said that ‘The family that eats together stays together.