When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that it is difficult to plan new towns or cities. Some people argue that more shopping malls should be constructed while others are holding the opposite agreement. In my view, I agree with more public infrastructure should be build when a new town or a city was designed.

On the one hand, increasing public parks and sports centers will benefit city dwellers in several ways. First of all, open area such as parks will encourage city residents to spend their leisure time with their families and friends more because a big park will be the best place to get away from the crowded city area and take a relax after one-day stressful work. For example, join a barbecue party on the weekend with friends in a park will not just relax but also socialize which will improve their relationship. Secondly, obesity is a significant problem among people in current society. If more sports center will be constructed the more opportunities for a healthy lifestyle will be created. In other words, parents would bring their children to sports center more frequently. People can do exercise in a gym or swimming in an indoor pool which will make them fit and energetic.

On the other hand, some people believed that more shopping malls will provide opportunities for employment and promote the local economy. Truly, a shopping mall in a town or a city create a large number of job opportunities. Westfield, for example, many famous brand and small retailers enter into it, and they together provide much employment to the local residents. Additional, people would like to gather together to shop in a large shopping mall which contributes to a large amount of tax revenue to the government. Therefore, the government will use the tax income to build public infrastructure such as transportations will make another economic boom.

In conclusion, although shopping malls will benefit the local economy, the health of the local residents is a vital factor have to consider when planning a new town or a city. Personally, I strongly agree that it is completely indispensable to have more sports centers and parks.