When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested by some that urban parks and sports halls are more important than shopping malls, and thus malls do not have to be included in a new town. I disagree with this opinion, however.

The importance of parks in urban planning is undeniable. Children love parks because they can find there rocks, soil, and trees - things that are different from what they see at home. The parks can also have buildings and other artifacts such as fountains, monuments, and statues that attract tourists. Additionally, urban parks increase the health quality of its local residents, since park vegetation reduces pollutants.

Sports halls also improve the quality of life of urban citizens. In crowded cities, sports halls are one of the few options for doing physical activity. Team sports like basketball and football are a great source of entertainment and local pride.

However, it is ridiculous to not build any shopping mall at all just because we need spaces for other recreation areas. Malls are an integral part of our modern life, since the contemporary economic model is built entirely on buying and selling products. To a visitor, a mall is only a place for hanging out, but to a shop owner, it is where she earns money for herself and her staff. Shopping malls also help new towns foster community sense. People often go shopping with their friends, coworkers, or family relatives. During the purchase, customers can chat with each other and mingle, developing friendly relationship.

To conclude, shopping malls are just as important as parks and sports facilities. Their inclusion in the planning of new towns is thus highly recommended.