When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has long been a controversy whether we need more parks and sports centers or shopping malls in our cities. To me, I tend to vote for the former two facilities when considering their comprehensive benefits to the public health.

Superficially, it is department stores that might be attractive to some people, especially the younger generation. To them, more shopping centers means increasing convenience, which not just provides a wider variety of commodities but also saves them much time in searching for different products. This is particularly important to those busy working adults in a fast-paced modern life. Apart from urban dwellers, shopping centers are usually reckoned as a tourism attraction for travelers, especially for those from developing countries. A convincing example is those super shopping malls in Paris and New York which absorb millions of dollars to the local tourism every year.

However, I would say that it is the parks and sports facilities that deserve more priority in development of new towns. While shopping centers are more like a paradise for youngsters, it is the public parks that is suitable for people of all ages and various interests to spend leisure time, from jogging to fishing, camping to painting. It provides a precious opportunity for each individual living in concrete jungles to relieve themselves in nature, which is beneficial to their mental health

Also, more sports facilities will make it easy for people to do more exercise, which in turn will increases the physical fitness of the public, thus simulating an active lifestyle for those who are collapsing in front of computers.

To sum up, attractive though shopping centers are, I would reiterate that it is public parks and athletic facilities that is conducive to the health of the masses.