It is important for all towns and cities to have large public outdoor places like squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public spaces such as squares and parks are social spaces which are very much needed in today’s era where people otherwise lead isolated lives. Therefore, I strongly agree that is imperative for all urban areas to have such outdoor places.

There are many advantages of having outdoor places such as squares and parks. Firstly, if such places are not there, people may not even know their neighbours. Earlier, most people in the world grew up, and died within 10 or 20 miles of where they were born. Everybody knew everybody, within that radius. Now, with emigration and greater physical and social mobility, many of the world’s people find themselves in places far from home. As a consequence, they may not know their neighbors at all. It is often necessary to bring people together so that they can get to know one another, learn about one another’s cultures, and develop common interests, concerns, and goals. Therefore, large public places are the need of the day.

Secondly, parks are the lungs of the concrete jungles that we live in today. A city park can also serve as a neighborhood focus, with playgrounds, sports fields, and other facilities bringing together adults and children from all corners of the area. State and national parks are also places where significant interaction usually takes place. The fact, that everyone is there with a common goal – to see the features of the park – make conversation easier, and break down social barriers.

Another important reason for having such public spaces is that they add identity to a place and act as places of tourist interest. Thus, they can boost the economy. For example, the Trafalgar Square in the UK, the Times Square in New York and the St. Peters Square in Rome are frequented by tourists across the globe.

Finally, most town squares are the most suitable places for open markets, music concerts, political rallies, and other events that require such large open spaces. Being centrally located, town squares are usually surrounded by small shops such as bakeries, meat markets, cheese stores, and clothing stores. At their center is often a fountain, a monument or a statue. Many of those with fountains are actually named Fountain Square.

To conclude, large open spaces such as parks and squares are absolutely essential for all towns and cities as they serve many important purposes.