Topic: It is important for all towns and cities to have large public outdoor places

like squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The initiative to promote outdoor spaces in metropolitan areas has gained in popularity in recent years. Even though these public places might result in a minor uptick in crimes, I personally support such forward-looking policies considering their potential effects on the community.

On the one hand, minor infractions may experience an increase in public areas. A specific example of this is the case of Nguyen Hue pedestrian square in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Since its officially public in 2018, the square has attracted millions of visitors all year around, particularly at special festivals, who enjoy strolling, gathering with their friends and having quality time together with their families. As visitors are tightly packed in the space and may be distracted by their buddies and beloved ones, they are likely to become targets for criminals such as pickpockets. Indeed, this is not only a loss for the unfortunate victims but also ruins the image of a safe and hospitable Ho Chi Minh City.

On the other hand, it is apparent that outdoor spaces are beneficial to physical health. There are many parks, gardens, and spares that provide an abundance of freely accessible resources for exercise. For example, those in Hanoi typically offer residents with exercise equipment and fitness facilities which often come free of charge. In addition, public areas are generally filled with plants, fostering a greener atmosphere and offering visitors a refreshing escape from the pollution that they must frequently endure in densely populated cities. Recent policy research into this area has shown that residents in the vicinity of public spaces tend to exercise more regularly, thus enjoying overall better health.

In conclusion, in spite of the threat of petty crimes, I would opine that public spaces should be encouraged in every city and town to promote healthier lifestyles. It is therefore advisable that city planners should allocate at least 20 percent of the total development area for green spaces or public areas.