It is important for all towns and cities to have large public outdoor places like squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Today, it is believed that outdoor places like squares and parks are essential for all towns and cities. Although public outdoor spaces may result in a minor uptick crime, I personally believed that they also play a crucial role in the development of urban areas and the well-being of citizens.

On the one hand, communal spaces can sometimes accidentally leverage the crime rates. The main reason is that in some areas, public outdoor spaces can become hotbeds for illegal activities such as drug dealing and using because of the absence of adequate security measures including sufficient lighting, surveillance, and regular patrols. As a consequence, these spaces may pose safety risks for residents. For example, in Ho Chi Minh city, there are a lot of parks which have become drug consumption places. Therefore, these public spaces can be not essential.

On the other hand, it is my firm belief that communal spaces are still of considerable importance. First, outdoor places such as parks and squares may enhance air quality in urban areas. This is mainly because plants in these places can absorb various air pollutants and emissions from vehicles, which may contribute to urban greening and mitigate the effects of climate change. For example, the green belt in Singapore has significantly reduced levels of particulate matter, a major cause of air pollution. Second, residents' physical health and mental health can be improved with public spaces. One of the reasons is that communal spaces provide facilities for exercise, relaxation, and social interaction. As a result, they can help people to reduce stress and become healthier.

In conclusion, while public places can become potential sites for criminals, I am firmly convinced that they are still necessary for urban life since they helps reduce pollution and improve the well-being of residents.