While many people go to the university for academic study, more people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to the shortage of qualified workers, more people should do vocational training instead of pursuing academic studies. I strongly agree with it since vocational training offers more practicality.

One reason is that career-oriented training is more practical for society’s working demands. Not only does vocational school secure a job when a person applies TO that school, but right after graduating, trainees would have a handful of experiences to work in practice. Since graduates from university need more time to intern before they can face real-life work, meanwhile, people with vocational training would start immediately after getting that job. Therefore, with the high demand, employers are more likely to prefer the latter because they do not need to train them as this helps reduce the time required for apprenticeships.

Another reason is that vocational training provides an opportunity for students to earn while they learn. Admittedly, going to university is advantageous, but not all people can afford the tuition fee and thereby, vocational education is a better option. Most career-oriented schools allegedly allow students to learn and work simultaneously. This means they can both build UP their savings and have hands-on skills and knowledge after the training. For instance, vocational trainees can spend half their day learning theory and skills while they can do a part-time job for the rest of the day. Consequently, they will have a certificate for their study and also a stable position in the labor market because they already have skillful experience.

In conclusion, universities are helpful environments for academic study. However, I firmly believe doing vocational education would be a better choice if one desires to have applicable skills and build UP personal savings while in their training period.